Home > Birding > Pedernales Falls – Sep 7, 2015

Pedernales Falls – Sep 7, 2015

January 20, 2016 Leave a comment Go to comments

Distance-wise, my house is much closer to Pedernales Falls than my previous apartment. Because of the actual roads available, I’m only about 20 minutes closer, but that’s still a big improvement. Sadly, I have only been to Pedernales once since I moved. There’s been a million things to do and until recently, I was often not here on the weekends.

Black-chinned Hummingbird (male)

Black-chinned Hummingbird (male)

In late September of last year, I finally made it out. For the most part, it was the normal birds. There were several people there, which was unusual. It worked out quite well, since they were more birders than photographers. It helps me out immensely when people are watching with binoculars and either notice birds I don’t or when I’m busy taking photos. I perked my ears up when someone said they saw a White-eyed Vireo. I have been trying for years to catch one. This one was well in the back of the north blind, but it was definitely a Vireo. It was not easy to get photos, but I managed a couple and came away from the trip very happy.

White-eyed Vireo

White-eyed Vireo

 

White-eyed Vireo

White-eyed Vireo

Before I left, there was one more surprise. I looked down and was slightly terrified to see a small snake making its way across the blind, a little too close to me. I gathered my senses, and waited for it to come out from around the corner where it had darted. I have no idea what species it was, but I’m glad it was a cooperative and friendly one. According to my photos, I haven’t seen a snake since 2010!

Snake

Categories: Birding Tags:
  1. February 11, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    Love the snake shot. Really tough to do with so little light. The park rangers have said that more than once they’ve come into the blind in the morning and found a snake coiled up by where the photographer’s window is in the newer blind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

