Home > Birding > Black-and-white Warbler

Black-and-white Warbler

On June 22, I drove down to Pedernales Falls State Park. It had been 7 months (!) since I had been birding. Other trips and house searching have been consuming my time. Even now, I only went because I needed to be in Bee Cave which put me relatively close to Pedernales. I don’t usually visit much during the summer and it was extremely overcast. Most of my photos were at ISO 800+. I didn’t have high expectations.

Deer

My first bird was sighted immediately after entering the park. A Greater Roadrunner was right by the road. Of course by the time I got the camera into position, it had gone into the trees. That was the second one I had seen in a month. On my way to the bird blind, I spotted a few deer on the side of the road. Seems unusual for them to have been out this late in the morning, but it’s not the first time I’ve seen them. I managed one photo (above). I have no idea why the camera was set at f/11. Probably from whatever I was shooting last time. The blurriness is caused by the car door being in the way.

2014-06-22_JD_0014

The north blind was not very exciting. This White-winged Dove was the most interesting thing so I spent a minute at the very active butterfly garden instead. There were dozens of Milkweed Butterflies about. It’s really great to see the garden work as intended.

Milkweed Butterfly

Milkweed Butterfly

Over in the south blind, not much was going on either. I stood around for awhile until a small, black and white bird appeared, darting around the back trees. I only managed a few pictures through the glass and with the dark skies, my photos came out pretty bad. But they were good enough to identify the newcomer as a Black-and-white Warbler! That’s the first time I’ve seen one and the other birders were excited as well.

Black-and-white Warbler

Black-and-white Warbler

Summer always bring Painted Buntings and Hummingbirds. The PB’s are usually elusive and require patience. This visit was no different. There were only one or two males. I should have come away with better photos, but I was playing with my 2x extender which requires manual focus. My only decent photo was with the 1.4x.

Painted Bunting (male)

After more nothingness, I headed back to the north blind. A flycatcher was posing throughout the blind. I wasn’t quite sure what it was since I didn’t have my book with me, but Eastern Phoebe was my first guess, which I believe was right.

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

I don’t pay much attention to the hummingbirds anymore, but with little else to look, I gave it a try. Good hummingbird photos are difficult: tiny and fast, they tend to be really close to you where the feeders are or perching in the branches a bit too far off. The changes to the south blind have made it difficult to photograph near the feeders, but the north blind was still workable.

Black-chinned Hummingbird

Black-chinned Hummingbird

I was running behind schedule now and only took a few minutes in the butterfly garden. Here’s a Hackberry Emperor to close out the day. With a proper butterfly book, I’m now able identify these little guys. There’s a few more photos in the gallery for this day. Fun fact. While checking up on the new house, I saw 3 Roadrunners. That’s 5 in less than one month which is likely more than I have seen in my lifetime. Maybe someday I’ll get a decent photo.

Hackberry Emperor

Hackberry Emperor

Categories: Birding Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

