Home > Vacation > Portland – Day 4: Lan Su Chinese Garden and Downtown

Portland – Day 4: Lan Su Chinese Garden and Downtown

And we’ve finally arrived at the last Portland post. This will also cover Day 5 since there was so little of it. I went for a light schedule on Day 4. In the morning, I visited the Lan Su Chinese Garden. This is a short walk from the MAX station. The garden takes up an entire city block but because it is completely walled off, you do have to keep an eye out for it.

2013-08-14_JD_0736

This being August, we were well past prime flower season. Expect more color in the spring or fall.

2013-08-14_JD_0745

I’ll post a few of my favorites here, but there’s not alot to say. It is literally an oasis. This is a must-see. The nice about going in the middle of a weekday in August is the lack of people. It wasn’t too hard to get photos without humans. But occasionally, having one can really improve the photo. This is one of my favorites.

2013-08-14_JD_0792

If you are a photographer, you owe it to yourself to spend some time here. I walked all the way around 2 or 3 times.

2013-08-14_JD_0818

I took a quick lunch and went in search of the Portlandia statue. For being the, “second-largest copper repoussé statue in the United States, after the Statue of Liberty,” it was surprisingly hard to find. I was always think things will be easier to find than they actually are, hence I don’t research much. You would think I would learn after all these years. The reason the statue is not obvious is because it is not at street level!

2013-08-14_JD_0864

While it was nice to see, I came away a little disappointed. I finished up the afternoon at Pioneer Square, across the street from the courthouse and where the MAX lines stop. The square is one of those places all the cool cities have. Somewhere for people to just hang out, sell food, or whatever.

2013-08-14_JD_0872

Yes, I actually framed the photo so the Benson Bubbler was in the foreground. Amazing! I then went back to the hotel and waited for Doris to arrive. It was getting late, but it was our only chance to see the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI). We took the streetcar for this journey. OMSI is the last stop, but it is in the middle of a construction zone (seriously) for a new bridge. We eventually found the high-end signs provided for car-less travelers like ourselves.

IMAG0458

We did indeed get there too late to see anything so we shopped around the gift shop, where Doris was perfectly content. I did score one very nice find, a copy of National Geographic’s Guide to Birding Hot Spots of the United States for less than $10. This makes it much easier to do some research when planning vacations.

The final day I had virtually nothing planned. I knew the Oregon Rail Heritage Center was closed until Thursday. This being Thursday, I took the streetcar down there only to find it still closed. I missed the part about them not opening until 1pm. It seemed best to spend the rest of the day back at the hotel reading. For dinner, we ate at Portland City Grill. Renowned for its view, but not so much for the food, it was pleasantly good (albeit expensive). If you don’t have a window table, you pretty much have to wait for someone to leave if you want a photo or just ask politely. I only had my cell phone, so this is not a great photo, but the view is really great at sunset.

DSC_0006

That’s a wrap! There’s quite a few photos in this gallery, mostly of the garden. Glad to have this completed after so long. That’s the problem with taking several trips; you don’t have time to look at the photos. Next up, I will likely alternate posts between Galveston and the Austin-area.

Categories: Vacation Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

