Home > Birding > Finally, the Vermilion Flycatcher

Finally, the Vermilion Flycatcher

December 29, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

A male Vermilion Flycatcher has been present at Hornsby Bend for at least a few months now. I went out there once but wasn’t quite sure where to park since I hadn’t taken the River Trail in a long time. This time, he was perched on a sign right by the road. There were two other cars parked there, so everyone made it easy for me! Here’s a map, but there’s a small grassy area in the northwest corner of Pond 2, by the massive greenhouse. This is the best photo I took.

Vermilion Flycatcher

While he does move around alot, he usually stayed in a select few places, which made it easy to track him.

This was part of a longer trip. I went to Marble Falls last night to see the Christmas lights, that’s one post. Since I was by Pedernales, I visited the park and followed up with Hornsby Bend. That will be another post. This will likely be my last missive of 2013, so Happy New Year!

Categories: Birding Tags:
  1. December 30, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Great catch, Jason. Awesome angle and creamy bokeh. Well done.

    I was at Pedernales Falls SP on Saturday before the cold front hit and the shooting was outstanding.

    A very happy New Year to you & yours.

  2. January 5, 2014 at 10:53 pm

    Thank you Jim. It’s nice to have a ‘life’ photo that isn’t from far away and fuzzy. I hope your 2014 is great. Maybe we’ll meet up at Pedernales sometime this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

