Home > Birding > Mills Pond – Oct 19

Mills Pond – Oct 19

October 25, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Last weekend I took a late walk around Mills Pond; well, twice. I’m still not used to the shorter days and need to get out there earlier. Good thing I had a full-frame camera since it was sunset!

The area was still mostly devoid of birds, even ducks. My first find was a Red Admiral, enjoying the last of the day’s sun. I think this one came out pretty well with the shadow.

Red Admiral

On the other side of the pond was the Great Egret in its usual place. Almost impossible to photograph in the afternoon because he’s backlit. A little further down was a Great Blue Heron. Nothing particularly noteworthy about that, but I managed to get close and the photo framed up nicely.

Great Blue Heron

Back near the beginning, I spotted my most exciting find of the evening: a rabbit! I’m unsure what kind, as the pictures on the web are not helpful. Eastern Cottontail or Swamp Rabbit, though the latter seems unlikely. I caught this one during dinner, so it looks like a McKayla impression.

2013-10-19_JD_0044

Feeling lucky, I took another trip round. 180 degrees from the rabbit was another rabbit! By now it was pretty dim light and the trees were blocking most of it. The following photo was shot at ISO 6400 and looks pretty decent.

2013-10-19_JD_0070

Finally, I stopped at the dock near where the GBH had been, as I’ve had some luck in a tree nearby. I saw something darting around and decided to wait it out. I came away with 2 photos good enough for an ID of what I think was a Bell’s Blue-headed Vireo, a new bird for me!

Bell's Vireo

Bell's Vireo

Other sightings not pictured:

  • Gadwall
  • Pied-billed Grebe
  • Red-bellied Woodpecker (first in years, I think)
  • American Widgeon

My 1 hour around the pond proved fruitful and hopefully the next will be even better.

Categories: Birding Tags:
  1. October 26, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Hi nosajio, are you sure that’s not a Blue-headed Vireo? I have no experience with Bell’s Vireo, but have seen lots of Blue-headed Vireos, and those white “spectacles” look very bold compared to the faint ones on the Bell’s showed in Sibley. If I saw this bird in the field, I would go with Blue-headed.

    Nice Red Admiral, by the way; I don’t think we got any this year!

  2. October 26, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    That is an excellent point Gillian, I think you are right. I hadn’t compared the ring all the way around, just noticed the top mostly. Either way a new one for me :) I’ll change the description. Doubt that I’ll get out this weekend to check again, but who knows. I wish it wouldn’t hop around so fast.

  3. October 27, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    That’s awesome that either way, it’s a new bird for you! This is actually one of my favourite songbirds. They aren’t as hyper as warblers, but they can still be difficult to photograph. I finally got a great photo of one this fall when one sat on a branch for about 60 seconds.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

