Home > Birding > Hornsby Bend – Oct 5

Hornsby Bend – Oct 5

October 13, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

I drove to Hornsby last weekend since it’s closer than Pedernales. I passed through Platt Lane, which was not a good idea due to heavy construction traffic. No problems, but not worth the potential trouble next time. I did spy a Black Vulture. Normally I would ignore it, but with not much else to see, I took a photo.

Black Vulture

Everything else was a Scissor-tailed Flycatcher. I certainly can’t complain about that, as it is one of my favorite birds. I did make an excellent photo of one.

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Backtracking to Hornsby found not much else. A few dozen ducks were evidence of migration setting in. The ponds were deep, as they have been for a long time, so shorebirds were almost non-existent. Two Spotted Sandpipers were standing around. A notable exception was this amenable Black-necked Stilt.

Black-necked Stilt

Several swallows were on the power lines, as usual. Since it was still early, I went to the pond at the Walnut Creek Wasterwater Treatment Plant. Not much there either, and the fact that landscaping was just finishing up mowing probably didn’t help. I did see a Great Blue Heron flying off, which my camera refused to focus on. I had better luck with the Great Egret that flew to the other side.

Great Egret

Finally, the unknown Pochard from last year is still there. It does not match any of the birds in my book.

Pochard

I should have gone birding yesterday, but did not make it out. We got a few inches of rain overnight and period rain throughout today so I stayed home. Well, I tried to. Power outage at work caused some issues so I went in for a bit to turn stuff back on. Too bad, as Hornsby had a good morning. The rest of the week looks like temperatures will stay in the 60s and 70s! Fall is finally here.

Categories: Birding Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

