Home > Birding > Quick visit to Mills Pond

Quick visit to Mills Pond

September 24, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

We took a quick sunset walk at Mills Ponds, no cameras. Pretty quiet. The usual 2 Great Egrets were still present, as was the Wood Duck. More exciting was a Great Blue Heron, which I think was the first time I’ve seen one there. I was very surprised to see it swim, like a duck! I honestly had no idea they could swim as I’ve only ever seen them stand around.

The highlight of the day was a Yellow-crowned Night Heron that flew in just after we got there. It was inspecting a recently flooded ditch. This was the first I’ve seen in years, and first good look I’ve had at one since 2008, when I took some photographs shortly after I got my first DSLR. I really wish I’d had my camera, since it was only 20-30 feet away.

The Osage-orange trees still had some fruit on them, but the majority had already fallen off.

I’m almost done with the first day of photos from Portland, since there are not many. Subsequent days have substantially more photos and will be much later down the road.

Categories: Birding Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

