Home > Insects > Eastern Black Swallowtail – Butterfly version

Eastern Black Swallowtail – Butterfly version

The caterpillar I last saw a few days ago reappeared this morning, but this time in butterfly form. I assume it is the same one. I was very pressed for time this morning, but managed a few photos before I left for work. I now know this is a female. She was hanging off the thyme.

Eastern Black Swallowtail (female)

Unfortunately I didn’t have all morning to sit around for an open wing shot, so the following is the best I could do.

Eastern Black Swallowtail (female)

It makes me very happy to know that my plants helped produce something so beautiful. That’s all for this week, unless something new pops up. I hope to have alot more photos to share later this month, although they likely won’t be of the animal variety.

Categories: Insects
  1. August 8, 2013 at 5:41 am

    I once found a Black Swallowtail caterpillar on my parsley. However, we went away for a week and when I got back the parsley had dried up (it hadn’t rained at all) and the caterpillar was gone. I was hoping to see it turn into a butterfly!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

