Home > Insects > Bug Month

Bug Month

Too hot to venture out, but my patio ‘garden’ has been collecting some interesting critters.

2013-07-07_JD_0005

I don’t know that this is. I think it’s a baby though. I have several of the adult versions (black) sitting on my sunflower and bell pepper stems. They don’t seem to do anything. They literally just sit there all day. I think they like the shade.

2013-07-14_JD_0006

Another unknown. This crawled out of Doris’ strawberry plant. My plant died earlier this summer. Unsure why. I think I missed one day of watering and apparently that was enough to do it in.

2013-07-27_JD_0001

This is an Eastern Black Swallowtail caterpillar. It’s hard to judge scale, but he’s a pretty good size. Ate alot of my thyme. I’m glad someone’s getting good use of it. He stuck around for a few days but then left. Think it also ate some of the parsley.

2013-07-31_JD_0008

Finally, a Giant Leopard Moth caterpillar. It really is quite large. Scared the heck out of me since it was at eye level when I opened the blinds. It hid behind a plant. That’s all for now.

Categories: Insects
  1. August 3, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    That first photo looks like the larval skin of something that metamorphosed into something else (for dragonflies we would call them exuviae). That may be why they just sit there…..they are the equivalent of a snake’s skin after it sheds. :)

  2. August 3, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Neat. This one actually moves. I had to keep turning the plant because it was camera shy and rotating around the branch :) I’ll see if I can get a photo of what I think is the adult.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

