Home > Birding, Events > 40mm goes birding

40mm goes birding

I wrote a nice blog post, published it, and WordPress ate it. Totally gone. I’m not going to recreate it, so here’s the short version. (It appears dragging and dropping photos into WP posts is a really bad idea. Always use the “Add Media” button.)

Last last year, I purchased the Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM. It is really tiny, very cheap, and very sharp. I have no need for it, but I bought it on a lark for the above reasons. I took it to the Sherwood Forest Faire for fun. It is terrible for birding, but I tried anyway.

Eastern Bluebird (female)

Eastern Bluebird decided the donation box was a birdhouse.

Aplomado Falcon

Aplomado Falcon

It’s a fun, light lens. This will replace my EF 50mm f/1.8 II, which was also bought on the cheap a few years ago. The “Shorty Forty” has much better image quality than the “Nifty Fifty”.

Categories: Birding, Events
  1. March 30, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    Had the same problem a few weeks ago. Wrote what I thought was a dandy blog post, a few hundred words, hit save draft and ***POOF*** it was gone. Thoroughly bummed but life is what happens when we’re busy making other plans.

    Love the bluebird on the donation box. That rocks. Your falcon is gorgeous too. Well done with your Shorty Forty. Gawd I miss my 50mm, but maybe the 40mm is what I need.

  2. March 31, 2013 at 10:29 am

    Thanks Jim. It really does use the box as a birdhouse. They found out when it flew off with some bills (later recovered).

    I have a 50 for sale! But Canon has a better deal on their refurb store now:
    http://shop.usa.canon.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_10051_10051_269494_-1?WT.mc_id=C126149

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

