Home > Birding > Pedernales Falls SP – Oct 13

Pedernales Falls SP – Oct 13

October 14, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Saturday’s forecast called for a slight chance of rain and Sunday’s for lots of rain. It turned out to be the opposite as the sun is shining bright this morning. Oh well. With dark skies ahead, I trekked out to Pedernales Falls, through occasional drizzle and light rain while I was there. Less than ideal shooting conditions, shooting at ISO 800-1600 most of the time. But a very good collection of birds!

First thing I noticed, besides Cardinals, was a Gray Catbird. I’ve only seen them a couple of times in the Spring, so this was a nice surpise. As always, they like to hide in the back of the blind where the cover is dense.

Gray Catbird

The second bird of note was a new one for me, a Nashville Warbler. According to the bird book, they are a migratory bird, not actually residing in this area. There were at least a couple of females both rooting around in the branches, so this was the best photo I could get.

Nashville Warbler (female)

The last from the south blind is unknown to me. It has a bright red/orange patch on the head. At first I thought there was something wrong with the camera, but it showed up in two photos. Update: Ruby-crowned Kinglet!

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Over in the north blind, it was rather quiet, but I saw a wren-like bird jumping about. I followed it out of the blind, took some photos, and went back to the south blind. It eventually showed up there. I showed the photo to the lady leading a bird tour for a group of people and she said it was a Canyon Wren! New bird! This was very helpful as it wasn’t listed in the book for the blind, since it is probably not a common occurrence. This wren is mostly found in the western US and Mexico. However, part of their territory does reach through Texas, ending around Austin.

Canyon Wren

The Canyon Wren is less stocky than the Bewick’s Wren. A longer neck, much more spotting and a brown belly, rather than white, helps distinguish it.

(Equipment-wise, I did not get to try out my new ballhead for the monopod. I needed the larger thread adapter for the monopod. Once I got home and did some searching, I found the instructions which said the monopod head is reversible, which is where the larger thread is. Bah! I’m still not terribly happy with the 60D photos. There seems to be more noise than compared to my 40D. Normally this isn’t a problem, but both times that I’ve been out with it, it’s been so dark that I’ve been using high ISO settings. The extra resolution is nice, though, and I am seeing more detail. But overall, I think it will work well. Again, I hope to have a 6D in few months anyway.)

With plenty of time to spare, I went back to the car and traded the monopod for a tripod to do some flower photos.

There’s a couple more in the gallery. That’s all for this weekend. I don’t plan on getting out again today or this week. Next weekend’s weather looks great (for now). Have a great week!

Categories: Birding
  1. October 14, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    Your mystery bird is a Ruby-crowned Kinglet. This was actually the “spark bird” that changed me from my backyard feeder-watcher to a full-fledged birder! We still have a few here in Ottawa, too.

    • October 14, 2012 at 10:47 pm

      Thanks Gillian. You’re wonderful, as always. It looked like there was a ring around the eye, so I didn’t stray past the warbler section of my book. Should’ve gone backwards a few pages.

      • October 17, 2012 at 5:12 pm

        Yep, look for the white brackets around the eyes, the drab colouration and small size. Ruby-crowned Kinglets are small, but they have mighty voices! Love the Canyon Wren photo, too….wish you could send one our way!

  2. Colburn Dick
    October 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Very nice shots. Thanks for sharing.

  3. January 23, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    Beautiful shots. I’ll have to remind myself that I need to get out to Pedernales in the late fall–the Catbird shot was cool and I finally got up close and personal with a Canyon Wren on Monday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

