Home > Birding > Hornsby Bend – Sept. 22

Hornsby Bend – Sept. 22

In search of a flock of Yellow-headed Blackbirds, I head back to Hornsby. I saw them once back in 2008, but not since. Did not find them this time, either. A few more ducks have shown up, but nothing interesting that I could see. I drove to the duck blind, where there were no ducks, but I managed some nice shots of a lizard and a damselfly.

Somewhat frustrated by the lack of birds, I decided to hit the trails a bit, since one of the entrances is right by the blind. I have no good picture to show for my efforts, but did discover 1.5 new birds. The first looked like a juvenile Little Bird Heron far away on the other side of the river. This is where the 0.5 comes in, as I’ve not seen a juvenile before. In fact, I haven’t see an adult in a very long time.

Periodically, I would come across very tiny birds in the trees. I’ve seen them before, but they are extremely fast. This time, I parked it and waited. I managed one very blurry photo. After getting home and a couple of searches in the bird books, the closest match was a Blue-gray Gnatcatcher. Checking the recent sightings at Hornsby, they are listed, so I declare a new bird!

On the drive out, I stopped by the fantastically placed logs at the northeast corner of Pond 2. Perched there were a breeding Snowy Egret and a Spotted Sandpiper (I think; shorebirds are not my area yet). The latter I think is a first for me. I haven’t seen a Snowy Egret in a few years, either.

Snowy Egret (breeding)

Spotted Sandpiper

Bonus, a weird bug that’s been on my plants for awhile. It finally cooled off enough for me to get a picture. He’s more interesting from the side, but this will have to do for now.

I did see a flycatcher at work today. Considering our location and the noticeable yellow, it is most likely an Acadian Flycatcher. Another new one for the week!

That’s all for now. Haven’t decided where to visit this weekend. Since I am not in Oregon, I may also do the Cars and Coffee thing again.

 

Categories: Birding
  1. October 9, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Beautiful images. I need to get back up to Hornsby one of these days.

  2. October 13, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Sounds like a fantastic place to visit! Love the bird pictures, especially the egret which we don’t get up this way. And yes, that it is a juvenile Spotted Sandpiper. You can always recognize those guys by the way their back end constantly goes up and down!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

