Home > Photography > More equipment talk

More equipment talk

September 30, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

My new camera, the Canon 60D, arrived a few days ago. I’ve only had a little time to play with it, but it is quite different from the 40D. A couple of ounces lighter, but not noticeable. I had hoped to take it out this weekend, but the weather was very uncooperative.

Forgot to mention another toy that I ordered, a Manfrotto Mini Ball Head (494RC2). I’ve been neglecting to get a head for the monopod for the longest time and finally picked one up. I had originally planned on getting the Joby SLR-Zoom head, but think I forgot about it. The Manfrotto is nowhere near as compact, which makes me doubt my purchase a little, but it does support an extra 2 pounds, which I might need. Doris has the more compact and cheaper Tilt Head (234RC). It’s nice, but has no rotation and has a lower weight limit.

Now that I have the head, it might be a good idea to replace my tripod so I could use it there, too. My current tripod has a built-in one. Ordered a Benro A0580F for Doris so I can test that out.

Pondering if it’s worthwhile to buy a ‘cheap’ flash too. This would come in handy since the upcoming 6D has no flash. The 90EX would be nice since it’s so small, but since it can’t rotate, it seems somewhat useless. That would leave the 270EX II as the next smallest. I would so rarely use it, though, it may not be worth it.

Finally, Canon Rumors reports possible new lenses in January, a 300 f/4 and a 400 f/4. That would be fantastic if true, but I bet they will be very expensive based on recent releases.

Oh, and if you are looking for a 5D Mark II, now is the time, with a $400 price drop. Inventory cleanout before the 6D arrives.

Categories: Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

