Home > Electronics, Photography > Good news, bad news, and news

Good news, bad news, and news

September 24, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

First the bad news. For a variety of reasons, I cancelled my Oregon vacation that was supposed to start in a few days. I will not reschedule it this year. Instead I hope to stay in Texas and do some coastal birding amongst the many wildlife refuges near Galveston or some border birding in the Rio Grande Valley. Will possibly try again next year. But we are going to do our annual trek out to East Texas in November. A little twist this time, we’ll be spending an extra day at Lake Conroe, which should have some good birding if the weather holds up.

Good news is that I was able to take advantage of the Canon’s 20% off select refurbished inventory. I picked up a 60D and it will arrive in a few days. This will replace my 40D that I’ve used for the past few years.

I am hoping this will be a short-lived replacement, though. As expected, Canon announced a new full-frame camera, the 6D. (Full-frame denotes a sensor the same size as 35mm film.) This looks to be the camera I’ve been wanting for some time. Unfortunately it will not be available until at least December. If the reviews turn out ok, then I foresee a purchase early next year. Maybe in combination with the Spring Rebates, because I will need a new wide-angle lens, too.

On a side note, Canon is really lacking in innovation at the non-pro end. They have become much more of a follower, and a conservative one at that. Nikon and Sony are putting out some really amazing cameras, though I think Canon has the better lenses. I hope the 6D turns out to be a sleeper and has stellar image quality.

I am also always on the lookout for a new pocket camera. I was originally going to get a Canon S100. However, most everyone has now released a large-sensor, pocket-size camera. This segment is changing so fast it is hard to keep up. But I have my eye on the Sony RX100. I think it is possibly the best pocket camera out there, albeit not cheap.

Finally, I may have finally found a good 27″ monitor, the Samsung S27A850D. It appears to be the only high-resolution, 27″ monitor that does not have a horrendous anti-glare coating. It is also not cheap, but not unreasonable. As no one seems to stock it locally, I will likely have to purchase it without seeing it in person first, if I decide to get it.

On the wildlife front, I only made it out to Hornsby Bend this past weekend. I had hoped to cover more ground. Birds were few and far between, though the ducks are starting to grow in numbers. I will post up a trip report and any decent photos later.

Categories: Electronics, Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

