Home > Birding, Photography > Welcome Autumn!

Welcome Autumn!

September 8, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

While it’s not yet September 22, it feels like it! Our first real cold front blasted through last night. Winds are high today and temperature should be in the low 90’s for the rest of the week, a welcome respite from the 100 degree days. Tomorrow we will head out Pedernales and see what’s there.

Tonight we plan to visit SwiftFest. Located in Jonestown, it’s about 20 miles northwest of here, next to Lake Travis. Never having been, I don’t know how many Chimney Swifts to expect.  I’ll report back later with more details. Here is what we would like to see:

 

Last weekend I poked around the monthly Cars and Coffee show. It was pretty hot, but I used a good test run to make sure I was feeling ok (no problems). A much better variety of cars at this show than the previous one I went to. I’ll have pictures up later.

Speaking of, medical treatment has gone well so far. I’ve been going back to the gym twice a week, to get back into shape. I still have a trip planned to Oregon in a few weeks. I’ll have decided for sure by next weekend. But that should be a great opportunity to see birds that we don’t see in Texas.

I am impatiently waiting for photokina. Held in Cologne, Germany every other year, this is the big photography show where manufacturers announce increasingly useless high megapixel and redundant pocket cameras. The DSLR news is much more interesting. I am hoping for a Canon 6D or similar that will be a full-frame camera newer than the 5D Mark II, but at the same price. The current Mark III is too over the top for me.

That is all for now. With fall coming in, posts should be more frequent.

 

Categories: Birding, Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

