Home > Insects > One flying thing

One flying thing

The whole butterfly/moth scene is not my area. So I present a couple of photos and maybe someone knows what it is. It was on my patio screen for a few hours, but inconveniently located. Used the 70-200. I think it’s pretty cool.

Categories: Insects
  1. July 8, 2012 at 5:35 am

    This is a Question Mark butterfly. When they open their wings they are a brilliant black and orange. When they close them they look like a dead leaf. Notice the silver marks on the hind wing. The Commas (Eastern Comma, Gray Comma, etc.) are named for this comma-shaped mark; the Question Mark is named for the extra dot which may or may not look like a “?”. They have been everywhere this summer!

  2. July 8, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Thanks Gillian. I knew I could count on you. I need to start learning more from your posts;I know you’ve mentioned them recently. He only opened his wings briefly and I didn’t want to wait around all afternoon for a followup.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

