Home > Birding > Pedernales – May 2012

Pedernales – May 2012

This was my May 27 trip down to Pedernales Falls State Park. Being a holiday weekend, it was more crowded than usual. But as usual, as long as you get there before late morning, it’s not a problem. There was a line of 10 cars waiting to get in when I left. I know, 10 isn’t many, but it is when you are used to none.

Carolina Chickadee

Today’s disclaimer is that I processed all these photos with Lightroom 4.1 RC 2. I’ll save a review for another post, but I think there is a good chance I will purchase it. I still need to do some more testing.

House Finch (female)

Back to the birds, this was a well-feathered day! Even though there were only a couple of interesting birds, the population count was high, which makes it enjoyable to just sit and watch. Once again I used my monopod in the blind and I think it has helped reduce camera shake and sharpen my photos. I am tempted to start turning off the Image Stabilization and see how it goes. The light kept changing from bright to cloudy, though, so I eventually gave up and just switched to Auto ISO. Hence some ISO 800 photos, although that doesn’t bother me in the daylight.

Painted Bunting (female)

The hummingbirds were not as numerous this time. The staff replaced a feeder with a larger one. Hummingbirds are best photographed at the old blind.

Black-chinned Hummingbird

As I mentioned in a previous post, the catch of the day was a Thrasher. But I was wrong in my previous identification. It was not a Curve-billed, but a Long-billed. I think. Long-billed’s are very similar to Brown, but this one didn’t look particularly brown. I saw him at the new blind only.

Long-billed Thrasher

There were a couple of Painted Buntings. These guys always take alot of patience as they only fly in occassionaly for short stays. And everytime I saw one, it was on the other side of the blind. By the time I moved, it would fly off. Annoying. I will have to go back. I have a very good Painted Bunting photo, but I would like more. No bird trips this weekend, but maybe next. I would like to get at least one more trip in before it gets too hot.

Categories: Birding
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

