Home > Photography > Photo Calendars – Lulu

Photo Calendars – Lulu

Free time for once! Something I’ve been meaning to cover for some time has been my latest photo calendar experience. I typically try a different site every year to create photo calendars. In the past, I’ve had one main requirement: Full-size photos. I want to be able to fill the entire top half of the calendar with my photo. No borders, no text, nothing. This is surprisingly hard to find.

I have one other preference, which I have not found anywhere. I would like to be able to change the font size. Bigger text would be great when looking at the calendar from afar. If you know anyone that does this for a reasonable price, please leave a comment!

This year, I decided to go bigger. These 8.5×11 inch calendars were not cutting it anymore. If I’m going to put my photos on it, I want it to be bigger! This is also hard to find. I only found a couple of major sites that offer this. I went with Lulu. They offer a 13.5×19 inch option. It’s actually one piece; the coils are on the top, not the middle.

Compare actual photo space:

Shutterfly: 8.5 x 11
Lulu: 9.5 x 13.5

The difference is remarkable. It’s more expensive, but Lulu frequently has coupons on the site, or you can search the web for one. The user-interface for making the calendar is yet another poor, Flash-based system, but since most/all sites do that, it’s not really a knock. The odd thing about Lulu, is that it seems to be meant for publishing your own stuff. So the checkout process is not as straightforward. You publish it, but only to yourself, and then you buy it from yourself. If you’re willing to put up with this, the end product is quite nice.

While I will search again for next year’s calendar, Lulu is currently my top pick.

Categories: Photography
  1. April 28, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    For the last two years I have used createphotocalendar.com with good results. You can currently see my 2012 calendar in the store (https://www.createphotoproducts.com/Store.html?dest=store) in the nature section – it’s called “Wildlife 2012 by gillianm” and has a picture of two deer on the front. They have lifetime pricing, too, which means the price you pay to order them decreases over time depending on how many you order. This is handy for me as I make calendars for my parents’ Christmas gifts every year and sell a few at work; so the price I charge my coworkers drops every year.

  2. May 2, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Thanks, I’ll check that out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

