Home > Photography > Catching up

Catching up

Apologize for the outage. I’ve been having a medical issue which I won’t get into, but at least it should be taken care of within a month or so. But armed with a supply of pills, I was still able to go on our annual snowboarding trip, this year to Breckenridge. I’ll have a short trip report later. So those two things have kept me from doing any bird photography, which is a shame, since it’s migration time. I should be making my way out to Pedernales Falls this weekend, though, I think my Park Pass has expired. Time for a new one.

An exciting piece of news from Canon, is the 60Da. This is a sequel to the 20Da from long ago, used for astrophotography. Here, we are referring to attaching your DSLR, sans lens, to a telescope with an adapter. The telescope effectively becomes the lens. A couple of years ago, I probably would have been all over this. I was very interested in astrophotography. My desire became much more muted when I realized what a pain it would be. I would likely need to do two hours of driving roundtrip to find someplace dark enough. If I was retired, this would be much more feasible. Alas, that’s a ways off!

The new version of Canon’s DPP software should be available this month. There is an update out now, but has a major bug, so I am holding off.

I’ve been greatly enjoying the wildflowers. We’ve had copius amounts of rain this winter, leading to a spectacular commute. I suspect the mowers will be here soon, so not much longer to enjoy it. Check out Bob’s photos for nice bluebonnets.

Categories: Photography
  1. April 7, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Sorry you weren’t feeling better. Glad you’re on the mends. Let me know how Pedernales Falls goes–this and next weekend are shot for me (family obligations), but I’m hoping to get out the following week.

    • April 7, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      Meant well vice better. Glad you’re feeling better now…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

