Home > Photography > Lens Condensation and announcements

Lens Condensation and announcements

February 7, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Condensation

I mean to put this in my previous Scotland post, since that’s where this problem occured. I don’t remember the exact details, but during one of the cold and rainy spells, we were outside shooting photos. When we got back in the bus, there was alot of condensation on the lens. Thinking I could just wipe it off, I wasn’t too worried. Until I tried to dry it and nothing happened because the condensation was on the inside! Now I freaked out. How the heck are you supposed to dry it? And when it drys, does it leave water spots?! I tried zooming in and out to try and ‘push’ the humidity out, but to no avail. This was the EF-S 17-55, btw.

By some miracle, the sun came out. I tried putting the lens in the sunlight and this worked, but it took awhile. In the meantime, I used my S90. I swore to get a weather-sealed lens. However, it happened again with my 70-200, which is sealed. Dang!

I guess I’ve been lucky that this never happened before. I recommend reading this article on preventing lens condensation.

New Lenses

In more positive news, there’s been a few new lenses announced that are of interest to me:

I am eagerly awaiting lens reviews!

Categories: Photography
  1. February 8, 2012 at 7:06 am

    I’ll be curious to see the reviews on the 24mm f/2.8. I own the original (non-IS, non-USM). It is both a classic and sought out by those who using their DSLR’s for HD Video. It is such a small lens that IS wouldn’t be one of those things most would be worried about, but perhaps that is towards the video folks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

