Home > Birding > Pedernales Falls SP – June 25, 2011

Pedernales Falls SP – June 25, 2011

This was my first trip since my eye surgery almost 2 months ago. Both bird blinds were packed full of the usual residents. Several painted buntings were present and the hummingbirds have arrived in full force. I’m glad to see the birds have become accustomed to the new blind. For once, I did not see any new birds. However, I took what I think is my first Lark Sparrow photo. It landed right in front of me, so it was easy to get a good shot:

Lark Sparrow

Much more exciting was a non-feathered visitor to the blinds. While I was in the old one, one of the volunteers came over from the new one and said there was a fox! Needless to say I high-tailed it over there. He was sampling the bird food and taking drinks from the fountains. He left and eventually went to the old blind as well. Unfortunately, I only had my 300mm lens with me. One of these days I will remember to bring the 70-200. With some creative positioning, I still managed to get a couple of good shots once he moved far enough away.

Gray Fox

 

Gray Fox

Definitely one of my favorite visits out there. I can’t wait to go somewhere that has real wildlife, like Yellowstone.

Categories: Birding
  1. Colburn
    June 29, 2011 at 6:55 am

    Come visit your dad. We had a skunk in the garage the other day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

