Home > Birding > Pedernales Falls – March 13, 2011

Pedernales Falls – March 13, 2011

Better late than never. It started out very overcast. Usually it will clear up, but not this time.

First thing I noticed was the butterfly garden looks to be complete, as mentioned on the Facebook album. I’m not sure if everything is planted and the plants will grow, or if fully grown plants will be dropped in later. I’m guessing the former.

The new blind was well populated, but the good stuff was at the old blind today. A new bird for us, a White-crowned Sparrow made an early appearance. An Inca Dove was also present. At first I was hesitant to post that, thinking it might have been a juvenile Mourning Dove. However, after double-checking the book and finding a very helpful blog post on dove differences, I’ve decided it’s definitely an Inca. Also present was a Dark-eyed Junco, of the slate-colored variety.

I’m not posting a photo of the Inca dove, since I typically only post photos of new birds or really good photos. Checking my collection, I have better photos of Inca Doves, so no photo. Here’s the best I got of the White-crowned Sparrow. It moved very fast, so it was quite difficult to get a focus lock. The crown looks much better head-on, but those photos were too blurry.

Categories: Birding
  1. March 29, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Great photo of the White-crowned Sparrow. We have hundreds of them and I am tired of looking at them. :-) But we are starting to get some flycatchers, maybe the goldfinches and orioles will be close behind.

  2. March 31, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Check my blog tomorrow morning. You will be receiving an award. :-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

