Home > Photography > Canon’s DPP gains Unsharp Mask (a few months ago)

Canon’s DPP gains Unsharp Mask (a few months ago)

February 6, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I’m apparently behind the curve here. Yesterday I upgraded my Canon Digital Photo Professional to 3.9.3. The first thing I noticed were the new buttons on the toolbar. More importantly is the addition of Unsharp Mask for RAW files, that was apparently added back in October. The problem with Canon’s normal sharpness algorithms is that they are, well, awful. I usually can’t use a sharpness more than 3 without the photo turning into something that makes me cringe. In fact, one of the best things you can do for your point-and-shoot camera is to turn down the sharpness.

I will have to play with this awhile to get the right settings. Actually, it will probably take quite some time. It would be nice to be able to take Neat Image out of my workflow and just do everything in DPP. If anyone has some good USM settings they use for bird or any type of photography, I would be most grateful.

To get the upgrade, go to Canon’s site and look in the downloads for your camera.

Categories: Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

