Home > Photography > Some photography notes

Some photography notes

November 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Luminous Landscape published An Open Letter To The Major Camera Manufacturers. If you own any lenses with an aperature greater than 2.8, you owe it to yourself and your pocketbook to read this article.

This weekend’s weather is shaping up to be perfect. I’m hoping to get out to Pedernales to check on the bird blinds and and the colors in the park.

Some time ago I printed a 24″ x 36″ photo from my Canon 400D:

The 400D is 10 megapixels. I thought the print turned out fairly well, so I decided to print 2 photos from our recent Colorado trip.

The first was from my Canon S90, also 10 MP, though I didn’t realize it till afterwards. I took the photo shortly after dinner and didn’t have my 40D with me.

The second was from my 40D (10 MP):

So, the point of all this is that I think 24″x36″ is probably pushing 10MP too far. That, and if you’re going to make a large print, you better be sure the focus is really good. The next step down is 20″x30″, which is what I’ll try the next time. Of course, the more fun alternative is to buy an SLR with a higher resolution LCD so you can get a much better check of the focus. The screen on the 40D is just not good enough, IMO. A higher MP SLR is also an option, though I wouldn’t get a compact camera with more than 10MP.

I think the first photo turned out better than both of the others. This may have been because it was taken with a telephoto lens rather than a wide-angle. I’ve noticed my focus is often incorrect, or non-existent, when taking landscape photos.

Categories: Photography
  1. December 21, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Sorry to be catching this post so late. I had a 40D previously before getting my 7D. I had no problems getting 20x30s with my 40D. Sometimes I needed a little help from my Focusf Magic software. Then there is AlienSkin’s Blowup enlarging software. Also OnOne has enlarging software, too. Check them out. They work fantastically. Then have Reliable Photo print them for you. An awesome job they do for about 20.00, for a 20×30.

    Bob

  2. December 22, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks for the tips. I think my problem is mainly focus on the wide angle. I’ll check that stuff out after the holidays.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

