Home > Vacation > Latest comings and goings

Latest comings and goings

November 13, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

We made our usual trek out to the TRF again. Really not much to say about it. Although there seemed to be alot of less smokers than usual, which was very nice. I just want to turn a fire hose on those people. Sigh. We stayed a yet another hotel. We’ve yet to stay in the same place. This year was the La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South. I think this was our best stay yet, in terms of closeness. There is one in Tomball, but the ratings weren’t as good and I think it is in the process of being turned into a Hampton. There is a new LQ being built closer (Magnolia, I think). Anyway, a good stay, although it had the weirdest layout I’ve seen. Full kitchen included, though dishes and such are only available on request.

We stayed at the Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake for the Ballunar Festival. I reserved a lakeview room with a balcony. The “balcony” is so small we didnt’ even see it when we arrived after dark. There’s basically standing room for 2-3 people. We missed the balloon AM takeoff (if there was one), so I don’t know if they flew over the lake, but seeing as we would’ve been looking straight into the sun I doubt it matters. Anyway, it might be better to stay in the non-lakeview rooms if you want to see the balloons take off. I don’t know if they have balconies on that side. Parking is tight, though, so grab a space early. Our toilet made this awful noise, but we were rarely there so it wasn’t a big deal. The plumbing made lots of noise during showers, too. AND it took a long time for the hot water to show up (think minutes). But after that, it was scalding hot :P So, definitely not what I expected, but I would still stay there again.


We attempted to see the balloon glow at 9pm on Friday, however they already shut down! Even the security people at the gate were confused. Saturday we finally managed to drag ourselves out there around noon time. Nothing was going on, so we toured the space center for a few hours because they had an open house. It was pretty cool, although not something I would need to see again; once was enough.

The PM balloon liftoff was pretty confusing as well. We all gathered up at the place where the balloons are supposed to be (or so we thought). After awhile, one balloon inflated, took off, and landed a short distance away. Nothing happened for awhile. Needless to say, we were disappointed. We weren’t the only ones as some people started to leave. But then a balloon appeared on the OTHER side, over the space center. Eventually more and more appeared, so it turned out ok. Would I go back? Maybe for the balloon glow, though it would be nice to find another festival. Or just go to the big one in New Mexico someday.

Full Gallery

Categories: Vacation
  1. yvo
    January 17, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    those shots of the balloons are awesome!

    so… have you ridden one of those things yet?!

    and yes, you and dor should totally go to japan. you guys would love it.

  2. yvo
    January 17, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    oh, and –

    it’s 2010 now. time for a new post!

  3. nosajio
    January 19, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Hi! Thanks! No, but I really want to go up in one. I know, I’ve really been slacking. I’m going to try to get a new post up before the end of the month…

  4. January 26, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Hey, old friend. What’s been up since the new year? I’m back in blogging town and trying to catch up. I am loving the new photos from the last several months. You’ve had some fun travels! Any birding tours in your near future?

  5. nosajio
    January 27, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks for the compliments! I haven’t been birding in quite awhile unfortunately. The summer was too hot, then I was too busy, then it got too cold. I’ll head out to Ped. Falls blind when it starts to warm up. Right now, I’m busy planning vacations.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

