Home > Electronics, Photography > Update 1 of 2 – New Toys

Update 1 of 2 – New Toys

I think I will turn the week’s “news” into 2 posts.

I got my Asus 1000HE netbook this week. I originally wanted a 14″ notebook, but decided I would rather have the portability. I’ll admit, it’s not perfect, but it’s very good so far. The main issue I have is the low resolution (1024×600). But there are no netbooks with a higher resolution, except an upcoming HP, but I can’t afford to wait. In a couple of years, I expect netbooks to be ‘perfected’, then it will be time to upgrade. I would really like a touch-screen and an SSD instead of a mechanical hard drive. 90% of the time I will be using it for web surfing and reading. The rest will be for photo storage and quick checking on trips, and watching video on the plane. With a 160 GB drive, I’ve got lots of space :) I also went for this one because it was less than $400 and I’m loathe to spend much more on a laptop.

Since I sold my Canon 70-300 to Doris, I’ve had nothing between the 40 and 300 focal lengths. I finally got the Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM. I’ll be taking this instead of my 300 prime on the trip. This will also be my zoo lens, which I might try out today. I would love to sell my 300, and use this exclusively, but I need the 300 for birds and other wildlife. I also got the EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM. This will replace my 17-40. I really need the image stabilization. I dislike spending so much on the wide angle (well, any lens really) because I so rarely use it, but with more trips on the horizon I will be using it more.

Also picked up Burnout Paradise for the PS3 (only $20!). I was planning on getting a used PS2 Burnout, but I think there is no going back now that I’ve seen the graphics on the PS3.

Categories: Electronics, Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

