Home > Birding > Balcones Canyonlands National Wildlife Refuge – Warlber Vista

Balcones Canyonlands National Wildlife Refuge – Warlber Vista

Sidenote. My MP3 player seems to have bit the dust. It was already rebooting after each song change, so I didn’t have much to lose by doing a firmware update. Which supposedly went well, but it won’t turn on anymore. Ah well.

This was day 2 of Memorial Day weekend. I hadn’t planned on going out, but couldn’t help myself. Warlber Vista is one place I had been wanting to visit for awhile since it’s pretty close. It’s part of the Balcones Canyonlands National Wildlife Refuge, of which I’ll blog about the other locations later.

I had hoped to go through all the trails, but time was lacking. There was also a gate at the front that looked like it would automatically close at some unknown time. So I was pretty nervous about getting stuck there. Past the gate, the roads are all gravel. This actually did quite a number on my paint job. Fixable, but those of you that have seen my car know I take good care of it, so I’m slightly annoyed. I may have to move up the wax schedule. I would not take my car there again. Google shows a parking lot nearby, but I don’t know what it is. It would also be quite a hike up the hill.

At the top of the hill is the first parking lot. You can keep on driving till the end though, down to the Sunset Deck. That’s what I did. There were two more groups of people enjoying the view as well. I decided to go down Ridgeline trail. Did this for awhile until it started getting dark, so high-tailed it back to the deck as I didn’t want to get locked in. I hung around for awhile, but the sunset wasn’t coming fast enough, so I eventually left (last one to leave). I think this would be alot nicer in fall when the colors change.

Birds. I had hoped to see wildlife, but virtually nothing. While waiting for sunset, I finally saw two Golden-cheeked Warblers for a couple of seconds. No pictures, but it was kind of exciting to see these elusive birds.

Categories: Birding
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

