Home > Photography > Lightning does strike twice

Lightning does strike twice

I’ve always wanted to take lightning photos. I had one small success on film back when I lived in college. I didn’t try again until I bought my first digital camera in ’07, the Canon A710 IS. The problem was that while Austin got an unbelievable amount of rain, we rarely get electrical storms. If we do they, tend to be at obscene hours. One night last year I did see lightning bounce off the antenna towers on 360.

Sidenote – If you’re ever wondered exactly where the towers are, here’s where to find them. If you zoom out, you can see the shadows on the ground, too.

Friday saw some powerful storms blast through. The location and timing was right, so we headed out to a parking garage by the Pennybacker Bridge. After a couple of hours with the DSLR and my new remote control, I had some great photos. However, some of the best lightning is actually cloud-to-cloud lightning. I’ve been told it’s hard to see the sky through the trees, so I need to find a new garage that’s not surrounded by foliage.

Check out the full gallery of photos.

Categories: Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

